*Reviews

 Don’t take our word for it … listen to what our customers have to say!

 

Share your Shady Harbor experience on Active Captain!

—————————————————————————————–

 Our Lucky Day!, 2013-10-11
Captain: Tim Kocher, Alexandria Bay, NY (10)

Traveling up the Hudson River we encountered a charging problem on our boat. As luck would have it the next marina was Shady Harbor Marina in New Baltimore. The owner (Brian) went out of his way to help us out. He found us the part we needed and had his mechanic trouble shoot and repair our problem. We stayed the night to get a fresh start in the morning. The restaurant and bar is great. Happy hour pizza and wing specials were outstanding. The food at the restaurant looked and smelled wonderful. Prices were great for the food and the mechanics service. I can honestly say if we had broken down anywhere else along our journey we would still probably be there. If you are in the area this would be a great destination. Gas, pump out, nice docks, mechanic service, food, ship store and most of all a friendly inviting atmosphere from all who work there.

—————————————————————————————–

 Customer Service Plus, 2013-10-02

Captain: Doc Ford, St. Augustine, FL (3106)

We were called at closing time and asked if we needed anything. The dockmaster gave us his cell phone number in case there were any issues during the night. Very helpful, taking care and time, at the pumpout dock. The staff here fully understands customer service.

—————————————————————————————–

 

A great over night spot..or longer?, 2013-09-20
Captain: RJR, Alex Bay, NY (231)

We choose this marina based on its #1 rating and it lived up to the expectations.
Deep water, great staff, very helpful dock pros…Fuel, and more. New floating docks, very clean restrooms a nice store on the grounds, etc etc..

Shady Harbor is doing it “right”

—————————————————————————————–

 Customer focused service department., 2013-09-09
Captain: kbeachy46, Bohemia Bay Yacht Harbor (36)

Service manager, Paul, was more than willing to help me remove a stubborn alternator pulley at 4:30 on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend. Shady Harbor understands customer service.

—————————————————————————————–

Fantastic Experience!, 2013-09-02

Captain: GKelly, Patchogue (85)

We arrived ~5:30pm, just as the facility was closing. Shawn, greated us, assisted with securing the boat, then proceeded to inform us of the marinas offerings. He was extremely helpful.
The following day, I had the opportunity to meet Cory, who assisted with fueling and waste pumpout. Both staff members exceeded my expectations and were a pleaseure to meet.

The pool, laundry/bath area were exceptionally well cared for as was the entire marina.
Having a car available to get into town was a great asset.
Well done job!

—————————————————————————————–

 Clean,comfortable and well organized, 2013-08-27
Captain: bob amidon, Cumberland, Maine (144)

From the first contact, with Kim to arrange a slip for the night, to the welcom dockside by Shawn and the very competent line handling, this place was very impressive. And as icing, their marine store had just what I needed in terms of a sanitaion hose and clamps, oil filters and even cocktail nuts, all critical items for long range cruisers like us. This place is one of the nicest and friendliest marinas we have stayed at this season.

—————————————————————————————–

Great Marina, 2013-08-20

Captain: AnnaMorgan, Stony Point, NY (42)

Stayed here for two nights and found the marina, facilities and staff outstanding. Excellent restaurant as well. Will definitely be back.

—————————————————————————————–

Great Spot!, 2013-08-18
Captain: Kevin Koval, Crescent, NY (20)

This is one of the nicest marinas on the Hudson. From the grounds, to the ships store, to the restaurant and the staff of the entire operation. It all made for a perfect stay.

—————————————————————————————–

great destination., 2013-08-07
Captain: Knot Enough, Marlboro Yacht Club, Marlboro NY (505)

We stayed a few days here and did not want to leave. they are very welcoming and friendly. This is the first place we stayed and received a welcome kit and cups!! Property is nice, they have a car you can use and great pool. Everything is clean and works. Docks are nice and appear new.

————————————————————————————–

This is the DESTINATION!, 2013-08-06
Captain: Bob Onboard ALLEZ, Green Cove Springs FL (552)

We spent 3 nights at this great Place. Started out with Derek doing a great job with some great VHF instructions getting on the fuel dock with current on the stern and wind on the bow. Little tight but worked out GREAT! Cory was a valuable asset helping with the refueling process and handling lines at the assigned slip. When the owner Brian Donovan comes down at 0630 to help you with your dock lines that is a total commitment to customer satisfaction at Donovans Shady Harbor Marina. Top notch Restaurant, comfortable, great menu and super service. A place we would definitely come back to. Thanks to all at Shady Harbor Marina for a great stay.

 

————————————————————————————–

Excellent, friendly marina. , 2013-07-29
Captain: Steve Buzzell, North Carolina (344)

We were here just short of a month waiting for the Erie Canal to open.

Marina has a small store with some basic supplies, marine supplies and “gifty” items.

Grounds are pretty, well kept and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

We couldn’t have asked for a better place to wait out the canal opening.

—————————————————————————————

Stuck in Shady Harbor…, 2013-07-23
Captain: Karen Siegel, Castine, Maine (1838)

We pulled into Shady Harbor Marina in mid June with a plan. We would rent a car drive back to Maine for a few days to pick up a new four-legged crew member return to the boat and head to the Erie Canal. Getting a car rental from Albany was easy. We were very comfortable leaving the boat and returned on schedule. That’s were the plan derailed.We returned to the boat just as the storms began and long story, short we didn’t leave until almost 6 weeks later. If we had to be stuck, I can’t think of a better place.Brian and Kathy have done a terrific job renovating the facilities. They are gradually replacing the worn docks with state of the art ones. The restaurant and bar are wonderful – ask about the “little beers”. The grounds are pretty. There’s a pool, nice bathhouse with laundry, and a marine store with a bit of everything. There were plenty of places to have nightly docktails with the other stranded boaters whether under the tent by the pool or in the Adirondack chairs unde r the trees. There’s a courtesy car to run to the nearby grocery or into Albany. We truly enjoyed our time here.

But the best part was the staff who was always smiling and courteous and ready to help with whatever you needed. We look forward to coming back. Do not miss this stop.

_____________________________________________

great stop on the northern Hudson, 2013-07-17
Captain: Dan and Sandy Reay, Cleveland, OH (75)

Waiting for news of the opening of Erie Canal was no hardship while docked at Shady Harbor. The facilities are beautiful,clean,and well maintained.The staff was outstanding,courteous and available. It’s the first marina that staff would make a pass on the docks or at the pool to ask if there was anything we needed. The courtesy car was a plus to make a provision run into town. While we were there other loopers met in the evening at 5:00 to share news and loop stories. We met lovely local boaters who were anxious to hear of our travels and were proud of their marina . Thanks to all !

_____________________________________________

 Awesome place to stay!, 2013-07-12
Captain: Ken Shanley, Venice, Fl. (95)

Beautiful marina, great restaurant on site. The owner, Brian and his staff are so friendly and work very hard to make sure your stay is a great one! We stayed 15 days and loved it.

_____________________________________________

94 degree and a pool, 2013-07-10
Captain: Fred Pfleger, Knapps Narrows Md (250)

we arrived on a 94 degree day and the pool was delightful. Brian and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Very pet friendly. new docks were great and the marina has a lot of lounge chairs under shade trees. The restaurant is good and the loaner care made provisioning easy. There is a grocery, NAPA auto and Hardware store nearby. We bought our canal passes in the marina store and prepped the boats for the canal trip.

______________________________________________

Great dock staff, great facilities, 2013-07-09
Captain: Ron Matuska, Dunedin, FL (1791)
First, we received fast vhf radio reponse from the marina. Then two dock staff helped to take our lines and secure us to the dock. They did great job, didn’t have to change a single hitch. Shady Harbor is a great stop, very peaceful location. Pool, covered picnic tables, propane grills, fully stocked ship’s store, courtesy vehicle, very nice restaurant on site. Only thing lacking would be grocery within walking/bicycle distance.

_____________________________________________

 Among the Best, 2013-07-02
Captain: Jno., Freeport, ME (183)Mostly new docks, decent restaurant, convience store/ship’s store, fuel – but what makes this a standout place is the staff. Jonathan, our dock’s “boy” checked with us regularly throughout our stay to see if there was anything we needed, or that he could do for us. Brian, the owner, was on site 24 hours a day, talking with owners and checking on staff. And, the place is extremely pet friendly. When I asked where to walk our dogs, I was told to let them run free! Brian works hard to cultivate a family atmosphere, and he is succeeding.

Great Place, 2013-07-01
Captain: Janet Schwerzel, Beaufort, S.C. (210)We are staying at Shady Harbor with a number of other boats waiting for the Erie Canal to open. The marina is a good staging place. It is has nicely maintained grounds with chairs sprinkled around the property to read a book or watch the barges go down the river. The pool has plenty of comfortable seating and there is a covered picnic area for gatherings. The onsite restaurant, The Boathouse, serves delicious thin crust pizza as well as assorted entrees. Seating is available inside or outside on a large deck with live music Thursday night. A courtesy car is available for provisioning. Convenience store at the marina has milk and some other basic foods. Staff at the marina have been friendly and are willing to help in any way they can.

Top Shelf Facility, 2013-06-28
Captain: Highlander, Milford CT (556)

We are on one of the new docks, synthetic decking , best quality fittings. We went for a swim and the water is warm but not too warm. The staff is friendly and helpful . The locals and transients are all getting along like a well oiled community. We have never felt so welcomed so quickly.
Ditto to the previous reviews.


Great Place on the Hudson, 2013-06-22
Captain: John OKeefe, Jersey Cty, NJ (10)Was pleasantly surprised what a nice facility this was. Great restuarant, new docks, great ships store, new pool. Definitely a great destination on the Hudson.

First Class, 2013-06-18
Captain: Marc Colby, Austin, Texas (1238)

We have stayed at many marinas over the years, and this has to be one of the best. The staff is outstanding and will continually ask if there is anything additional they can do to help your stay be more pleasant. The docks are excellent, with only a bit of wake and current from the river.

The showers and laundry are spotless, as is their pool. The ship store actually has many items you would find at a West Marine. We were here longer than we wanted as we waited for the Erie Canal to open, and the staff at this marina could not have made it a better stay. Just excellent.


Great Stay!!, 2013-06-10
Captain: JGBish, Asheville, NC (10)

Shout out to the the Shady Harbor Marina. Brian, Derrick, and the rest of the staff provided excellent service and made us feel right at home. The marina members adopted us like we were one of the regulars. The on-site restaurant provided a wide variety of selections including seafood, pizza, and hamburgers. All were excellent. We also took advantage of the pool and laundry. Even the wi-fi and cable worked. I would encourage everybody to visit and be as happy and pleased as we were!


 Canadians in distress, 2013-06-06
Captain: Neil Malcolm, Port Dalhousie, Niagara, Canada (10)Last year we were fortunate in finding Shady Harbor as we headed down the Hudson from Niagara, Ontario.
We had incurred a bad vibration and pulled into Shady Harbor for advice.
From the moment we arrived to departure a couple weeks later, the personal care and attention we received was first class, the complicated engineering involved highly professional. We could not have wished for a better visit. Bravo to all at Shady.
I would encourage everybody to visit and be as happy and pleased as we were!

2 for 2 but 10 out of 10, 2013-06-04

Captain: Karen Holtze, Lake Simcoe, Ontario (100)Great marina…stayed there June 1st after a long day on the Hudson River – no current in the marina, easy to fuel, brand new pumpout…pool, showers, BBQ’s, picnic tables and laundry…great ships store (some food necessities, tshirts, boating nice to haves, boat parts), full service lift and and restaurant next door – including gluten free pizza and pasta – yeah!!!! Reasonable rate and easy in and out – plus the people that make this their home port are very nice – lots of well behaved dogs as well!Great place for transients as well as there is an enterprise car rental and lots of shopping just down the streetWe would stay here again – not particularly well known yet as this is just their 3rd year open (2 for 2 was 2 years of hurricanes….) – I wish them luck with making that 2 for 3 and so on!

Definitely stay here, 2013-03-03

Captain: Kevin13, Chelsea Piers (30)Beautiful new docks, pool, picnic area & ship store. Everything is so meticulously maintained. This is a good stopping spot on the way north to the canals and Lake Champlain.

Terrific spot, 2012-10-19

Captain: BClarke, Essex, CT (550)They certainly earn their ranking. Clean marina, nice docks, very friendly and professional dock help and a fabulous restaurant (albeit a bit noisy from the bar). On the way back down the Hudson we made the terrible mistake of staying someplace else. Do yourself a favor – run the extra miles and stay here.

Hospitality to the Max, 2012-10-07

Captain: Mike Our Venture, Stoneledge, Cayuga Lake (60)Fantastic facilities and a fabulous restaurant (Yanni’s). We stayed here on the way to our destination and loved it. We had mechanical problems on the way home and spent several days there. Brian and Derrick were awesome lending us a car and getting us a hotel while our boat was being repaired. Their crew were really friendly and helpful during our “crisis”. Can’t thank them enough! A great place to stop and spend some time!

Just Discovered, 2012-08-20

Captain: Keira Burtch, Stony Point, NY (852)We were looking for a place to visit for a long weekend with family on our 40′ trawler. We couldn’t go to our usual spot, so I got on Active Captain and saw the great reviews of Shady Harbor. They are spot on – Great, friendly, welcoming greeting from owner Brian Donovan. Beautiful new docks, travel lifft, pool, picnic area, convenience/ship store, spotless grounds and buildings. The palm trees are such fun!The Hudson is narrow there, with an Island opposite the marina. Because of this, most boaters really do slow down and observe the NO WAKE zone. We were not bothered by heavy wakes at all. This is a good stopping spot on the way north to the canals and Lake Champlain. More important, it is a great destination … We hope to bring our Cruising Fleet group there next summer.

worth the trip and great stop over, 2012-08-05

Captain: Burgstrasse, Marlboro NY (464)excellent new docks, spent 2 nights here , nice pool, food was excellent, great ship store and palm trees on the hudson
Donovans have done an excellent job here friendly and helpful we will be back

Friday, June 22, 2012, 2012-07-23

Captain: Bradley Hurlburt, North Palm Beach, Florida (20)One of the nicest stops on our trip from Florida to Burlington, VT. The people who run it were wonderful and we couldn’t have felt more welcoime. We enjoyed dinner on the property and the live band on the deck after dinner.

Update: A GREAT destination marina!, 2012-07-16

Captain: Sierra, East Coast (82)I just returned from visiting Donovan’s Shady Harbor for the first time since Irene. The upper Hudson River once again has a great destination marina. The new docks are spectacular and a great indication of what’s to come as they plan to replace more. The grounds are immaculate. The updates to the ship’s store are terrific – so great to be able to do light provisioning (including beer) at fair prices. The list goes on. If you’re looking for a getaway on the Hudson where the marina is the destination, take a good look at Shady Harbor. And for transients on the move, it remains the easiest stop in the area.Again, well done, Donovans! I’ll be back.—
New owners, the Donovans, did an outstanding job accommodating as many boats as they could seeking safe harbor before the storm hit. While many docks here were rendered unusable, i do not believe any boats were damaged. Their service in a crisis situation was exceptional and speaks to the world-class marina I expect they will establish here.Their fuel was inspected and certified and they have gas and diesel currently available. They even have the pump-out working already.Well done, Brian, Kathy, Bob and everyone else that made an extraordinarily tense time almost enjoyable.

Very nice stop, 2012-06-15

Captain: Tom Ray, Kenlake Marina on Kentucky Lake (47)We stayed here on June 15, 2012. The dock we stayed at was brand new, replacing one destroyed by Irene last year. The staff was welcoming and went out of their way to be of service. And the restaurant next door was excellent.

Moving a boat to Lake Erie , 2012-06-02

Captain: J. David, Vermilion, OH (10)Had our mast hauled @ Riverview. Crew change here . Brian & Derek could not have been more hospitable. Restaurant is great, car for provisioning. Great spot!

Friendly full service marina, 2011-07-28
Captain: Charlie Stewart, Gulf Shores Alabama (738)

I did not intend on stopping here, but blew out an injector line coming down the Hudson and limped in. They had their mechanic on the boat trying to help within 30 minutes. The manager loaned us his car to make a trip to the parts store, and they introduced us to a local “diesel guy” that did some amazing magic in his sholp on the evening before the 4th of July Holiday. They have a nice ships store, fuel, maintenance service, showers, pool, electric and water. The only downside is that the docks are subject to big boat wakes on the Hudson. The friendliness makes up for that.
The restaurant next door is 5 star alone. Great entertainment.

 

Store Hours: 9am - 6pm Sunday -Thursday and 9am - 7pm Friday and Saturday